In This Place

It has been so long since I’ve been here.

I’ve been waging a battle…or two…

First and foremost I’ve been battling lung cancer since April of 2015. This has involved surgery,  chemo, a myriad of tests, MRI’s, CT scans, endoscopies, pokes and prodding. My most recent surgery was in November. I’m writing this just to let you know the circumstance of my absence, not to garner sympathy.

I recently joined a Cancer Support group. I should have done this much earlier in this journey, but here we are.

I’ve met people in the group, who when sharing their stories, help me to cope with the issues I have yet voiced. We meet weekly and although I haven’t been able to attend each and every meeting, I have also gone away from there with renewed hope. Some of those with the most wisdom to share are very progressed in their illness.

Our facilitator is a Mental Health Social Worker. Once a month we have a time of creative writing – I’ve been to one so far. This act has helped me to find my words once again.

Today, I offer you a piece of poetry I’ve written and inspired by this support group:


In This Place

The UAMC Cancer Support Group
~Tamara Farner-Swerline

“And ecstasy through all our being leaps—   Death bows his head and weeps.”   from “Death” by Rainer Maria Rilke

 

in this place

darkness blesses all

enveloping the soul

 

in this place

what some dread

others may embrace

 

in this place

dark nights of the soul

are known and accepted

 

in this place

pain is a declaration

that life continues on

 

in this place

we seek resolution

to questions not voiced

 

in this place

we find consolation

in sharing our journey

 

in this place

tears are cleansing

like baptismal waters

 

in this place

we are warriors

silently waging battle

 

in this place

we fear only

the long, last good-bye

1 Comment

Filed under Institutionalization

One response to “In This Place

  1. Thanks for this post and for sharing your story and poem. It’s so good for you to have such a supportive group to share your expereinces. I’ve been following you for a few years and am glad to have you back. All the best as you continue your recovery!!

    Sandi Somers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

