More of Lucille Clifton’s Work

Here is another piece by Lucille Clifton. In it she describes being nonwhite, female, and self made. Even though I am considered a white woman, I identify with this piece. Maybe is is because no band aid ever made matches my skin tone, so I like to think of myself as a woman of color. Perhaps it is that one quarter of my blood that is Cherokee that allows me to proclaim that fact.

What ever it was that tried to kill her (and all the rest of us), I am glad beyond measure it failed.


won’t you celebrate with me

Lucille Clifton

won’t you celebrate with me
what i have shaped into
a kind of life? i had no model.
born in babylon
both nonwhite and woman
what did i see to be except myself?
i made it up
here on this bridge between
starshine and clay,
my one hand; come celebrate
with me that everyday
something has tried to kill me
and has failed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Institutionalization

Leave a Reply

